The Strokes debut ‘Oblivius’, announce ‘Future Past Present EP’

by Eric Van Dril · 46 comments

This morning, The Strokes’ ‘Oblivius’ debuted on Julian’s new SiriusXM radio show. Listen to the new track on the Cult Records website. It, like pretty much everything The Strokes do, makes the waiting and uncertainty worth it.

On Cult’s website, you can also pre-order the band’s four-song EP, which includes three new tracks and a remix by Fab. It will be released on June 3.

{ 46 comments… read them below or add one }

1 JayConz May 26, 2016 at 8:31 am

LORD ABOVE this is some good shit.

2 Kinger May 26, 2016 at 8:32 am

WOW! Just astonished!
I really do love everything about this song.

3 Kinger May 26, 2016 at 8:36 am

No falsetto!

4 Sergio May 26, 2016 at 8:40 am


5 Sergio May 26, 2016 at 8:42 am

the EP is just 4 USD!!!! …. i love that way of think of julian….. just pay a fair price for an EP,,,, almost 0 profit

i will buy viniyl Bundle as well

6 Raulf May 26, 2016 at 8:45 am

It’s a really good song. I like the vocals, even though they get strange in some parts. It’s definetly moving and energetic.

7 Kinger May 26, 2016 at 8:47 am

I hope this is the beginning of something new!

8 Morrison May 26, 2016 at 8:55 am

The songs Rad. Do you think this means they won’t be releasing a full length.

9 Oh Shit Bacon May 26, 2016 at 8:56 am

Guitars, bass, solo, melody, chorus, Daft Punk touch…Wow, i love that.

Less impressed by the prod and the voice after a first listen, but this already grew on me.

Very exciting song. Can’t wait to listen the EP.

I hope the EP is a first step before an album in the next months.

10 Kinger May 26, 2016 at 9:00 am

That guitar solo makes me wanna break stuff I SWEAR!

11 Wolfsie May 26, 2016 at 9:02 am

It took me a few listens but I really like it. So nice to see the Strokes altogether in the video. And to get this message that they have a future together – their way.

12 Eli Manning May 26, 2016 at 9:03 am

The band recorded the EP in New York and Austin over the past year with producer Gus Oberg. A press release states that “the Strokes are currently at work on new material.” The whole EP will stream later today on Cult’s website.

13 Kinger May 26, 2016 at 9:07 am

I know how people are a little disappointed with Julian’s voice in the song, but think of it this way. THATS HIS ACTUAL VOICE! Would you rather this than falsetto? God knows I don’t. Even though his falsetto sounds tight, his regular vocals is soooo much better.

14 xcrw May 26, 2016 at 9:07 am

Guys, Zane Lowe is premiering another of the EP songs in 20 mins or so on his Beats 1 show.

15 Kinger May 26, 2016 at 9:10 am


16 soma May 26, 2016 at 9:15 am

so based on Oblivius and the clip of Threat of joy from the conversation video my theory is that title of the ep is referring to the songs

Drag Queen (Future)
Oblivius (Present)
Threat of Joy (Past)

17 Meg May 26, 2016 at 9:18 am

I like it. Julians voice reminds me of Brandon Boyd from Incubus.

18 Gibson May 26, 2016 at 9:19 am

anybody caught the presale?

19 xcrw May 26, 2016 at 9:24 am
20 AutomaticStop May 26, 2016 at 9:25 am

@Soma- good call. Threat of Joy might be the one that we hear at the start of the interview video then.

21 AutomaticStop May 26, 2016 at 9:38 am

Whoa! Drag Queen is pretty amazing. Zane Lowe says it sounds like another level for the band, I have to agree.

22 Kinger May 26, 2016 at 9:39 am

I really feel like Daft Punk made a big impact on Julian

23 Mikey May 26, 2016 at 9:41 am

I really like Drag Queen but whoa Julian has a strange voice on it that I have not heard before.

24 Kinger May 26, 2016 at 9:42 am

He sounds like the lead singer from Radiohead

25 dontstopreact May 26, 2016 at 9:42 am

Drag Queen is so much different. Some things I really liked and some not so much. Julian’s vocals have always been my favorite part of the Strokes so it’s weird to hear them like that. Really like the instrumental though.

26 Tourist May 26, 2016 at 9:48 am

Drag Queen is amazing. It’s like Nintendo Blood meets The Strokes. It sounds different. I really like the vocals, especially towards the end where he just goes weird in a good way.

27 Kinger May 26, 2016 at 9:48 am

I wanna listen to Drag Queen again!

28 dontstopreact May 26, 2016 at 9:50 am

Drag Queen is up on Cult right next to Oblivius now.

29 Patrick May 26, 2016 at 9:52 am

Drag queen is now on the Cult website

30 Kinger May 26, 2016 at 9:53 am


31 Brian Wallace May 26, 2016 at 10:12 am


No. Did you score any? I guess I’ll try tomorrow. As soon as the link came up I got a no tickets available message. Whatever were available must have gone in seconds. If you were able to score some, congratulations.


32 Saloni May 26, 2016 at 10:24 am

Gorgeous songs , love both

33 Melodica03 May 26, 2016 at 10:52 am


I was able to buy the pre sale bundle.

Has it already sold out?

34 Brian Wallace May 26, 2016 at 10:56 am


I believe the pre-sale tickets are sold out. They went quick. The general onsale is tomorrow.


35 lit2pop May 26, 2016 at 11:04 am

I like both tracks a lot, a really nice synthesis of the off-kilter voidz stuff and the strokes tightness as a band

36 WHATTHEFUCKWHASTHAT May 26, 2016 at 11:17 am


the site says the preorder EP will come in BLACK viynl, but the CoS says red? and ble?

what is going on

37 lit2pop May 26, 2016 at 11:17 am

Drag Queen is the better track of the two imo, sonically reminds of Bowie’s Scary Monsters or Adam Ant’s pre-Wild Frontier records; they seem to be back into the New Wave, like they were with ROF – which is great!

38 fukdat May 26, 2016 at 11:22 am

the Voidz must be feeling like Jules ex, that sucks..

Jules should have release all his Voidz stuff under his own name.

39 Tannk May 26, 2016 at 11:22 am

@gibson NO! Last time they played there I was lucky enough to get presale. This year no luck. I just bought Gov Ball tickets instead.

40 Gibson May 26, 2016 at 11:23 am

i was a milli second too late. hope tomorrow is a different story! btw there was pre sale bundle?

41 Gibson May 26, 2016 at 11:24 am

And if tomorrow i get to snag a ticket, im deff going to be at the capitol at 10 lol. last time i got there at 11 and there was already a line of 15 lol

42 Melodica03 May 26, 2016 at 11:30 am

@Gibson/Brian Wallace

My bad. I was referring to the EP sales. There was a Pre Sale of the EP in red vinyl.


There was a quick pre sale this morning of the red vinyl (which was limited production.) My guess is that sold out and now they are selling standard vinyl.

I snagged a red vinyl early on.

43 WHATTHEFUCKWHASTHAT May 26, 2016 at 11:39 am


Yep thats what I gathered form the reddits as well, oh well 🙁 tbh even when I clicked on the website, 3 hours ago it was black vinyl, those reds must have sold out super fast.

44 eric aint trill May 28, 2016 at 8:56 pm

eric must be happy that his site isnt dead anymore, i know i am. took me a while to like the new songs, ill always love them i suppose

45 Eric Van Dril May 29, 2016 at 5:36 pm


46 Coe May 31, 2016 at 11:44 am

Why is Fab omitted from the photo?

Leave a Comment